Skills development as part of your company’s BEE transformation strategy

I recently received a request from a prospective client that read: “We are investigating the feasibility of rolling out skills development as part of our BEE transformation strategy. Please can you present the solutions aligned to Category B, C, and D certified training?”
Because this is a request we receive regularly at Triple E Training I decided to share with you the various training options we offer. But first it is important to establish that Triple E Training is an ABET and NQF 1 learnership provider as per the learning site information on the learning programme matrix, and that we are an accredited provider as per the rules under learning achievement on the matrix.

The Learning Programme Matrix

The learning programme matrix forms part of the skills development element of the BEE Scorecard which has recently been declared a priority element. It states that institution-based theoretical instruction and some practical learning that is formally assessed by the institution is classified as Category B training. This category of training has a mixed mode delivery of institutional instruction combined with supervised learning. The learning achieved at the end of training within this category must be theoretical knowledge and workplace experience with set requirements that results in a certificate being issued by an accredited institution of learning.
It further states that registered, structured, and experiential learning in the workplace that is formally assessed by a professional body, is classified as Category C training. This category of training is delivered as structured learning in the workplace with mentoring and coaching, and the learning achieved at the end of the training must be occupational or professional knowledge and experience that is formally recognised through registration or licensing.
Category D training is classified as occupationally-directed instructional and work-based learning that is formally assessed by a professional body. Training in this category is delivered institutional instruction together with structured supervised experiential learning in the workplace. The learning achieved at the end of training in this category must be theoretical and workplace learning that results in the achievement of a South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) registered qualification.

Category B Training

ABET, or Adult Education and Training (AET), is classified as Category B training on the learning programme matrix. We offer a variety of ABET learning areas of which numeracy and communication in English (literacy) are the two most popular. There are different levels of ABET depending on the current skills level of the learners, starting at pre-ABET to ABET level 4. Each of these levels have certain practical elements that learners need to succeed in to qualify for each specific level.

Category C and D Training

Learnerships are categorised as Category C and D training. At Triple E Training we offer NQF 1 learnerships in business practice, and manufacturing and engineering related activities. The most popular learnership is the Business Practice NQF 1 qualification. Entry requirements for this learnership is ABET Level 3 for both numeracy and literacy. To become certified in this qualification learners will have to successfully pass each subject related to the specific learnership programme.
The learnership is delivered on-site at the client’s premises and is presented as a simulation of theoretical knowledge and workplace learning of which your employees need to keep a learner log book. At the end of the learnership the NQF 1 qualification is issued by an accredited institution such as the Services SETA or MerSETA.

Compliance to government regulations

Because Triple E Training is an accredited service provider it means that our clients are able to use the training as part of their Employment Equity (EE) Plan, Workplace Skills Plan (WSP), Annual Training Report (ATR), the skills development and preferential procurement elements of the BEE Scorecard, and to claim tax grants and SETA rebates. To enable our clients, we supply them with all the necessary documentation that include our accreditation letter and BBBEE certificate (Level 2), invoices and statements, attendance registers, progress reports, learner statements of results, and certificates of completion.

Your BEE transformation strategy

As you can see there are many ways in which you can use skills development, training, and learnerships as part of your company’s BEE transformation strategy. As an accredited provider with more than 25 years’ experience in delivering training solutions, we will be able to help you chose the correct training programme for your company’s needs.

Samson ~ Quick Contact Form